On the cutting room floor

As I sat to prepare this post I did an internet search for the phrase which I had in mind for its title and, much to my surprise, there were several links to it. The words grew out of the celluloid film industry and refer to unused footage, edited (literally cut) out, never to appear in the finished film. With the advent of new technologies however the phrase is doomed to extinction since, rather than being physically cut out and tossed into a bin, digitally recorded sequences are now selected and deleted (and are comprised of digital bits, only to be selected and inserted if so desired). So, in what way does the phrase link to the image below? You may recall my recent description of a walk along Chatham’s Run. Although only a single photo illustrated the post, it was not the only one I had taken earlier that day. It is a continual source of frustration for Joanna when I’ll spend and hour or so taking photos, use one to illustrate a post, and then leave the others on the cutting room floor. She’ll say, Didn’t you get other nice ones when you were out today? I captured the image below while walking along Chatham’s Run and Joanna is right … it is quite nice. She says the ice looks like blown glass. I like its color and the ways in which deformations in solid water both mirror and contrast with those in liquid water.

Ice

29 thoughts on “On the cutting room floor

  1. Your economical use of photographs conveys poignancy, just as using fewer, well-chosen words can imply wisdom. Silence and economy are beautiful things.

    That is an amazing photo.

    • Good Morning Tree Girl … your observations are very kind and I thank you for them. I think you are in Australia … if so, I’m envious! We had 8″ of snow overnight and that has brought with it lots of work for the day ahead … mostly feeding animals and plowing the drive. Your appreciation of my work will help carry me through the day. Thanks. D

      • That’s a lot of snow, and I can only imagine how much responsibility that brings with so many mouths to feed. We’ve been having 40 degrees Celsius most days, but every now and again the weather will throw in a day that’s 16 to 18 degrees and we think we’re freezing. We hibernate in the summer here, it’s too darn hot to do anything.

        • We rarely get that high (~105F) here in the summer and when we do … everything STOPS … just too hot to be working outside. Our low temperature here this winter has been just below -10F (-23C) and, although we think that’s cold enough, it doesn’t much bother the animals. The cattle down the road began calving a bit ago and even at single digits the little ones do just fine … even when coming into the world at those cold temperatures. Animals are amazing … aren’t they? D

  2. It took me a long time to uncover what this gorgeous image reminds me of. Here it is, a weird association right out of my subconsciousness, the “curly” / “wavy” structure and the yellowish hues remind me of … the hair of angels statues in baroque churches, either covered with gold foils or just painted. This is the ‘perfect’ Christmas photo!

  3. I’m also fond of rippling water like this. The patterns change so quickly that I’ve sometimes set my camera to take multiple images at high speed, Even then, consecutive frames only a split second apart often look quite different, and my hope has been that one of the images will stand out from the rest.

    • Yes … I too took several shots and this seemed the best to my eye. It’s snowing again (8″ overnight) today … Texas is looking awfully good this morning … I’ll be it’s warm there too. D

      • It’s been up and down. Last week we had two afternoons in the 70s, then colder weather again. Yesterday it got up to around 60° with clear skies, but this morning I see cloudy skies and my outdoor thermometer reads 39°.

  4. Wow, David, I really love this shot. The glassy texture of the ice contrasting with the gushing flow is wonderful. The shapes are intriguing and enticing. Like you I will take loads, maybe 100 shots to find three or four images which I feel really capture what I’m seeing. Thank heavens for digital, or this would be a very very expensive hobby! You should enter the show by the way, what do you have to loose. If you don’t get placed you might get some really helpful feedback, and anyway there would be people who would see your work who otherwise would miss the treat of your photos. Got to be worth a shot?

  5. I think I prefer this one to the one of the ice blocks covered in snow. This one is more original/abstract. I really like the detail you capture in this close-up shot! Can’t you imagine this in a modern art gallery? I can!

    • I’m an unrecognized treasure … what can I say? Joanna is urging me to enter a local juried exhibition but, between us, if I should lay a goose egg there, what hope can there be?

  6. Joanna is right! I also feel a sense of movement and can hear a gentle trickle as the water moves along … not fast enough to break up the ice but just fast enough to create minor bits of turbulence here and there. In giving up its heat the molecules surrender to the bonds of lower energy states but still the remaining bit of kinetic energy is just enough to effect a minor bit of chaos in the lattice. And the result is beauty.

  7. OMG gorgeous … all the things you said about the contrast are unbelievably working in this image. My new wallpaper … but I wish I had a poster of it. Are you thinking of doing posters?

    • Thanks for the OMG … made my day … I think I’ve got the flu. So, ya, like, you know … Joanna is urging me to enter a local juried exhibition but, between us, if I should lay a goose egg what hope can there be? I’m afraid. On another high note … we’ve been without running water for more than a week (I’m hauling 5 gallon buckets from the barn) … we think there’s a hole in the pipe to the spring … drillers expected tomorrow or Tuesday. Yikes. D PS: If I were one to insert stuff like this … :( … I’d do so … but I’m not.

      • I’m sorry about the flu … and the well. You have managed quite well on the spring. What a pain in the neck that here near the end, you need to make an expensive change. But, the juried exhibit? DO IT. Who cares if you lay a goose egg? You will, of course, lay a few eggs though it’s the jury’s job to prevent that from happening in public. Go though the process and learn to be brave, to be confident in your work. Not everyone will like it but it is very much worth putting it out through a professional process. You will begin to take yourself more seriously and it will subtly but powerfully effect the work.
        I was remembering carrying 5 gallon buckets myself the other days. I think it made my arms longer.

        • Done, this afternoon … 150 feet in good rock … 40 foot of casing … water at 30-50 foot and at 7 gallons per minute … a hot shower is perhaps three days away now! Can’t wait. Oh … I will enter and see what happens. D

  8. Hi, Dave. This is a marvelous image. Wonderful colors. Painterly. I like Joanna’s description of it, as well as her encouragement that you surely have other worthy keepers from the shoot. The details of the ice are really lovely, crisp and yet somehow glowing and fluid at the same time.

    • Hi there Lemony. There is a preset in Photomatix Pro called ‘Painterly.’ Although this image wasn’t generated as an HDR and Photomatix wasn’t used to process it I think it’s weird that you should use the term to describe it. Do you know Photomatix? Thanks for your observations. I hope you’re a bit warmer today than you have been recently … we’ve been above freezing for nearly 24 hours now. Delightful. D

  9. Nice picture. I always used to tell my friends that if I got one really good image out of an adventure, that was enough. On the other hand, when you are shooting stills, skill is inversely proportional to how many images you have shoot to get that one really fine one. Regarding that cutting room floor, the context remains the same, and cuts are for the sake of more forceful expression.

    • Thanks for the observations Shimon. Back in the day of Ektachrome one work by the ‘Rule of Thumb,’ which was … take lots and lots of images and put your thumb through the ones you don’t like! D

      • I don’t know whom you worked with back in those days … but I was a professional photographer then … and I used to develop those films myself … the photographers I knew were very careful about when they pressed the trigger. The very best didn’t like to shoot a single one that they wouldn’t truly like …

        • I hear you Shimon. I’m no professional and was describing a time, long ago, when, as a kid, I didn’t know any better! Now, of course, with the advent of digital technologies taking 1 costs no more than taking 1000 … isn’t it wonderful? D

Respond to this post if you'd like.

